Election Results

WB Polls: Buddhadeb Bhattacharjee Files Nomination

BeyondHeadlines Staff Reporter

Kolkata: Chief Minister Buddhadeb Bhattacharjee today filed his nomination from Jadavpur constituency in South 24-Parganas District, which will go to polls on April 27 in the third phase of assembly elections in West Bengal.

The nomination was filed at South 24-Parganas District administrative office at Alipore.

The chief minister, who is seeking re-election from the constituency, is pitted against Trinamool Congress candidate and former chief secretary of the state Manish Gupta.

Bhattacharjee was accompanied by his election agent and former mayor of Kolkata Municipal Corporation Bikas Ranjan Bhattacharya and South 24-Parganas District CPI(M) secretary and former MP Sujan Chakraborty.

Notification for filing of nominations for the third phase of elections involving 75 constituencies in Kolkata, North-24 Parganas and South-Parganas districts was issued on April 2. The last date for filing of nominations is April 9.

Scrutiny of nominations will be done on April 11 and the last date for the withdrawal of candidature is on April 13.


Most Popular

To Top

Enable BeyondHeadlines to raise the voice of marginalized


Donate now to support more ground reports and real journalism.

Donate Now

Subscribe to email alerts from BeyondHeadlines to recieve regular updates