Latest News

Button Wins Thrilling Canadian Grand Prix

Uzair Rizvi,  BeyondHeadlines

Jenson Button took the chequered flag in Montreal after Vettel turned wide on the final lap.

Vettel, who for most of the rain-interrupted race was left to claim the second spot on the podium, while his teammate Mark Webber came third.

Courtesy: getty images

Former World Champion Michael Schumacher came fourth; his best result of the season so far. He had a masterful race as he came in the second spot but lost his grounding against Button and the Webber as Schumi had no defenses against Webber’s DRS.

Petrov and Massa followed him in 5th and 6th place respectively.

The race had originally started behind the safety car because of the wet conditions.

Vettel started as the raceleader.Hamilton was out of the race soon as he collided with Button and crashed into the wall.

Button immediately pitted and changed to intermediate tires.

An incident packed saw safety car used five times and included two-hour stoppage because of heavy downpour.

Heikki Kovalanien had some clutch problem, which forced the Finn to retire at 31st lap.

Both Ferrari’s pitted for new tires, but a lap later Alonso was out of the race as the Spaniard turned out of the track ending his race, which started from the second position.

Nick Heidfield shunted into the debris ending his race too.

Force India had a bizarre end as Sutil was at fourth position when a mechanical failure ended his race. Di Resta had climbed to fifth position but damaged his front wing at turn 9 on second last lap of the race as he came last.

Massa’s front wing suffered damage as he headed back to the pits to get it changed.

Schumacher narrowly missed out his podium as Webber overtook him at chicane.

Button had fallen back to 21st position after a heavy downpour at Circuit Gilles Villeneuve force the race to be red-flagged for more than two hours in 25th lap.

His race not only included his collision with Hamilton but also his six pit stops and a drive-through penalty but still 2009 champion never gave up and successfully overtook Vettel in the final lap.

Sebastian Vettel leads the championship table with 161 points and followed by Button with 101 points.

India’s Narain Karthikeyan came fourteenth in his HRT Cosworth.


01-Jenson Button (4h 4 m)
02-Sebastien Vettel
03-Mark Webber
04-Micheal Schumacher
05-Vitaly Petrov
06-Felipe Massa
07-Kamui Kobayashi
08-Jaime Alguersuari
09-Rubens Barrichelo
10-Sebastien Buemi
11-Nico Roseberg
12-Pedro Rosa
13-Vittantonio Liuzzi
14-Narain Karthikeyan
15-Jerome D’Ambrosio
16-Timo Glock
17-Jarno Trulli
18-Paul di Resta

Not Classified-
Pastor Maldonado
Adrian Sutil
Nick Heidfield
Fernando Alonso
Heikki Kovalenien
Lewis Hamilton

Driver Positions-
01-Sebastien Vettel(Red Bull) 161
02-Jenson Button(Mclaren) 101
03-Mark Webber(Red Bull) 94
04-Lewis Hamilton(Mclaren) 85
05-Fernando Alonso(Ferrari) 69

Constructers Points:

1-Red Bull 255
2-Mclaren 186
3-Ferrari 101
4-Renault 60
5-Mercedes GP 52

Most Popular

To Top