Latest News

Vettle Claims Another Pole

Uzair Rizvi,  BeyondHeadlines

Sebastien Vettel stormed to his seventh pole position in Valencia in eight qualifying sessions so far.

The Red bull will start 1-2 in Valencia.Vettel was just under two-tenths of a second faster than his team-mate Mark Webber.

Vettel tried to stay cool inside his garage as the track temperature soared at 113 degrees. He set the pace after the halfway point of the 10-minute final session.

Lewis Hamilton starts third, ahead of Ferrari pair of Fernando Alonso (fourth) and Felippe Massa (fifth) with Jenson Button completing the third row in the sixth position.

The new engine-mapping rule did not affect Vettle’s performance. His fastest lap at Circuit de Catalunya was of 1 mins 36.975 seconds. The Mercedes pair of Nico Roseberg and Michael Schumacher came next (seventh and eight) ahead of Nick Heidfiled (ninth).

Force India’s Adrian Sutil takes the tenth spot where as his team-mate Di Resta covers up the twelfth position. The German did not come out in the final session as the team management decided to save the tyres for the Sunday’s race.

The 5.4 km circuit, comprising long straights, hairpin bends should give Force India confidence with engine VJM04 providing great strength on the speed.

India’s Narain Kathikeyan set the slowest time and will start from the last position.

Vettel grabbed his 22nd pole of his fledging career and his favorite to win his sixth race of the season.


01-Sebastien Vettel(Red Bull) 1m 13.014 s

02-Mark Webber(Red Bull)

03-Lewis Hamilton(Mclaren)

04-Fernando Alonso(Ferrari)

05-Felipe Massa(Ferrari)

06-Jenson Button(Mclaren)

07-Nico Roseberg(Mercedes)

08-Micheal Schumacher(Mercedes)

09-Nick Heidfeld(Renault)

10-Adrian Sutil (Force India)

11-Vitaly Petrov (Renault)

12-Paul di Resta (Force India)

13-Rubens Barrichello (Williams)

14-Kamui Kobayashi (Sauber)

15-Pastor Maldonado (Williams)

16-Sergio Perez (Sauber)

17-Sebastien Buemi (Toro Rosso)

18-Jaime Alguersuari (Toro Rosso)

19-Heikki Kovalenien (Lotus)

20-Jarno Trulli (Lotus)

21-Timo Glock (Virgin Racing)

22-Vittantonio Liuzzi (HRT F-1)

23-Jerome D’Ambrosio (Virgin Racing)

24-Narain Karthikeyan (HRT F-1)


Most Popular

To Top

Enable BeyondHeadlines to raise the voice of marginalized


Donate now to support more ground reports and real journalism.

Donate Now

Subscribe to email alerts from BeyondHeadlines to recieve regular updates