Election Results

AIADMK Heads for a Sweep

BeyondHeadlines Special Correspondent

Chennai: The Jayalalithaa-led AIADMK front forged ahead of its rival the ruling DMK front and is heading for a sweep, according to trends for assembly election in Tamil Nadu.

The AIADMK had established leads in over 190 seats in the 234-member House. The ruling DMK front is way behind, leading only in 39 constituencies.

Corruption charges on various DMK leaders arising out of the 2G spectrum allocation scam have come to haunt the party.

As the AIADMK juggernaut rolls on in Tamil Nadu, a majority of DMK ministers are trailing.

M Karunanidhi has submitted his resignation as the Tamil Nadu chief minister to governor Surjit Singh Barnala.

Among the DMK ministers trailing are finance minister K Anbazhagan, higher education minister K Ponmudi, food minister E V Velu, transport minister KN Nehru, health minister M R K Paneerselvam, backward classes minister K K S S R Ramachandran, agriculture minister Veerapandi Arumugham, hindu religious and charitable endowments minister K R Periyakaruppan, school education minister Thangam Thennarasu, tourism minister Suresh Rajan, sports minister T P M Mohideen Khan, commercial tax minister S N M Ubayadulla, foresh minister N Selvaraj, IT minister Poongothai Aladi Aruna and fisheries minister K P P Samy.

AIADMK chief Jayalalithaa was ahead in Srirangam.

Post-poll surveys were not very clear about who would come to power. 


Most Popular

To Top

Enable BeyondHeadlines to raise the voice of marginalized


Donate now to support more ground reports and real journalism.

Donate Now

Subscribe to email alerts from BeyondHeadlines to recieve regular updates