Karnataka Chief Minister B S Yeddyurappa Wins Confidence Motion

BeyondHeadlines News Desk

New Delhi: Amid ruckus by the opposition, Karnataka Chief Minister B S Yeddyurappa won the confidence motion in Karnataka Assembly today. The opposition staged a walk out demanding adjournment motion, but the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) won the motion with a clear majority.
The Supreme Court had earlier said the decision of the speaker to disqualify the 11 BJP legislatures and five independent members of the assembly as unconstitutional. But with the rebel MLAs supporting the BJP government, BS Yeddyurappa was expected to win the trust vote.
Congress leader D K Shivakumar said,, “The Speaker is acting as an agent of BJP. We wanted to discuss what the Speaker did during last trust vote and he’s not allowing an discussion. How can democracy function like this?”
The Opposition was demanding adjournment motion to be passed regarding the Speaker’s decision but it was rejected, the Speaker then called for the confidence motion and amidst an opposition walkout, BJP won the confidence motion with a clear majority.

Most Popular

To Top

Enable BeyondHeadlines to raise the voice of marginalized


Donate now to support more ground reports and real journalism.

Donate Now

Subscribe to email alerts from BeyondHeadlines to recieve regular updates