Election Results

Former Nagaland Chief Minister Jamir Loses Aonglenden By-Poll

BeyondHeadlines News Desk

New Delhi: Former Nagaland chief minister and senior Congress leader SC Jamir on Friday lost the Aonglenden Assembly by-poll to ruling Naga People’s Front (NPF) candidate Toshikopba Longkumer by over 1,300 votes.

Jamir, the longest serving chief minister of Nagaland, had won from the Aonglenden seat in Mokokchong district a number of times in the past.
He was staying away from the state for nearly a decade due to gubernatorial assignments in Goa and Maharashtra.

By-poll for the Aonglenden seat was held on May 7 which saw a high voter turnout of about 88 per cent.
The by-poll was necessitated following the death of Congress MLA Nungshizenba Longkumer in 2011.


Most Popular

To Top

Enable BeyondHeadlines to raise the voice of marginalized


Donate now to support more ground reports and real journalism.

Donate Now

Subscribe to email alerts from BeyondHeadlines to recieve regular updates