Election Results

Tamil Nadu Polls Results: AIADMK Set to Sweep State

BeyondHeadlines Staff Reporter

Chennai: The Jayalalithaa-led AIADMK front forged ahead of its rival the ruling DMK front and is heading for a sweep, according to trends for assembly election in Tamil Nadu.

The AIADMK had established leads in 160 seats in the 234-member House. The ruling DMK front was way behind, leading only in 39 constituencies.

The 2G spectrum scam and corruption charges on various DMK leaders have come to haunt the party. Most of the ministers including DMK general secretary K Anbazhagan were trailing.

AIADMK chief Jayalalithaa and DMK patriarch M Karunandhi were ahead in Srirangam and Tiruvarur respectively

AIADMK ally CPI-M was leading in Tiruppur (South) and Maduravoyal constituencies.

CPM’s K Thangavelu was leading by 3,135 votes against the Congress at Tiruppur (South) while Beema Rao was ahead of PMK’s K Selvam by 1,365 votes at Maduravoyal.

Congress candidate Vijayadharini was leading over CPM’s Leema Rose at Vilavankodu by 267 votes.

Post-poll surveys were not very clear about who would come to power.


Most Popular

To Top

Enable BeyondHeadlines to raise the voice of marginalized


Donate now to support more ground reports and real journalism.

Donate Now

Subscribe to email alerts from BeyondHeadlines to recieve regular updates