Election Results

Trinamool headed for historic win in Bengal

Kolkata (PTI): The Trinamool Congress was headed for a historic win today after establishing leads in 215 of the 294 seats in West Bengal.

The Mamata Banerjee—led Trinamool Congress was ahead in 177 seats while its alliance partner Congress was ahead in 38 constituencies.

For the Left Front, the CPI(M) was leading in 47 seats, its ally CPI in three, Forward Bloc in 13 and RSP in four.
BJP was ahead in one seat and an independent in one.

Others were leading in seven seats.

Chief Minister Buddhadeb Bhattacharjee was trailing by 2,076 votes behind his Trinamool Congress rival and former state chief secretary Manish Gupta in the Jadavpur constituency.

Industry Minister and CPI(M) Politburo member Nirupam Sen was behind his Trinamool Congress rival Rabi Ranjan Chatterjee by 2,986 votes in Burdwan South.

Housing Minister Goutam Deb was trailing behind Bratya Basu of TC by 1443 votes in Dum Dum and Finance Minister Asim Dasgupta behind Amit Mitra of TC by 6,047 votes in Khardah.

IT Minister Debesh Das was trailing behind Swarnakamal Saha of TC by 7,797 votes in Entally, while Sunderbans Development Minister Kanti Ganguly was trailing behind TC’s Debasree Roy by 1,026 votes in Raidighi.

Agriculture Minister Naren Dey of Forward Bloc was trailing behind Asit Majumder of TC by 10,365 votes in Chinsurah.
Trinamool Congress leader Partha Chatterjee, the Leader of the Opposition in the outgoing Assembly was leading against Anupam Debsarkar of CPI(M) by 4,832 votes.


Most Popular

To Top

Enable BeyondHeadlines to raise the voice of marginalized


Donate now to support more ground reports and real journalism.

Donate Now

Subscribe to email alerts from BeyondHeadlines to recieve regular updates