Latest News

Cabinet Reshuffle: Ramesh, Trivedi Get Cabinet Berth; Salman Khurshid Replaces Moily

BeyondHeadlines Staff Reporter

New Delhi: The central cabinet, led by Prime Minister Manmohan Singh, today witnessed a major reshuffle with the inclusion of Jairam Ramesh and Dinesh Trivedi in the core team of the prime minister.

While Ramesh, who was the minister of state (Independent Charge) of the Ministry of Environment and Forests, has been elevated as the Minister of Rural Development, the Ministry of Railways has gone to Trinamool leader Dinesh Trivedi. In addition, Beni Prasad Verma and Kishore Chandra Deo have been included in the new cabinet, which has seen some new faces also. Verma has got the Ministry of Steel while Deo will head the Tribal Affairs and Panchayati Raj Ministry. Verma was earlier the minister of state (Independent Charge) of the Ministry of Steel.

Vilasrao Deshmukh, who used to handle the Rural Development portfolio, has been moved to the Ministry of Science and Technology and Earth Sciences. Law Minister Veerappa Moily has been shifted to the Corporate Affairs Ministry. Salman Khurshid replaces him as the new law and justice minister. He will also have additional charge of the Ministry of Minority Affairs.

Some of the new faces in the ministry include Srikant Jena, Gurudas Kamat.

Congress spokesperson Jayanthi Natarajan, Congress chief whip Paban Singh Ghatowar have been inducted as ministers of state with independent charge.

TC chief whip Sudip Bandopadhyaya, Congress leaders Charan Das Mahant, Jitendra Singh, Milind Deora, Rajiv Shukla have made their debut as ministers of state in the cabinet.

The ministers who have been dropped from the Union Cabinet include Dayanidhi Maran, Murli Deora, BK Handique, MS Gill, Kanti Lal Bhuria, A Sai Prathap and Arun S Yadav.

Maran had resigned as the textiles minister following allegations following allegations that he arm-twisted Aircel owner C Sivasankarn to sell his 74 per cent stake to Maxis group of Malaysia. Resignations of Dayanidhi Maran and Murli Deora have been forwarded to President for acceptance.

President Pratibha Patil will administer the oath of office and secrecy to the new ministers at 5.00 pm on Tuesday.


1. Shri V. Kishore Chandra Deo

2. Shri Beni Prasad Verma

3. Shri Dinesh Trivedi

4. Shri Jairam Ramesh


5. Shri Srikant Jena

6. Smt. Jayanthi Natarajan

7. Shri Paban Singh Ghatowar

8. Shri Gurudas Kamat


9. Shri Sudip Bandyopadhyay

10. Shri Charan Das Mahant

11. Shri Jitendra Singh

12. Shri Milind Deora

13. Shri Rajeev Shukla

The Prime Minister has recommended the portfolios of the

newly appointed Ministers may be as below:


Shri V. Kishore Chandra Deo : Tribal Affairs and Panchayati Raj

Shri Beni Prasad Verma : Steel

Shri Dinesh Trivedi : Railways

Shri Jairam Ramesh : Rural Development


Shri Srikant Jena : Statistics and Programme Implementation

and Minister of State in the Ministry of Chemicals and Fertilisers

Smt. Jayanthi Natarajan : Environment and Forests

Shri Paban Singh Ghatowar : Development of North Eastern Region

Shri Gurudas Kamat : Drinking Water and Sanitation


Shri Sudip Bandyopadhyay : Health and Family Welfare

Shri Charan Das Mahant : Agriculture and Food Processing Industries

Shri Jitendra Singh : Home Affairs

Shri Milind Deora : Communications and Information Technology

Shri Rajeev Shukla : Parliamentary Affairs

The Prime Minister has further recommended that the portfolios of the following Ministers may be changed as indicated below:


Shri Vilasrao Deshmukh : Science and Technology and Earth Sciences

Shri M. Veerappa Moily : Corporate Affairs

Shri Anand Sharma : Commerce and Industry; and additional charge of Textiles

Shri Pawan Kumar Bansal : Parliamentary Affairs and additional charge of Water Resources

Shri Salman Khursheed : Law and Justice and additional charge of Minority Affairs


Shri E. Ahamed : External Affairs and Human Resource Development

Shri V.Narayanasamy : Personnel, Public Grievances and Pensions; and Prime Minister’s Office

Shri Harish Rawat : Agriculture and Food Processing Industries; and Parliamentary Affairs

Shri Mukul Roy : Shipping

Shri Ashwani Kumar : Planning; Science and Technology and Earth Sciences

The Prime Minister has fowarded the resignation letters of the following Ministers in the Union Council of Ministers with the recommendation that they may be accepted.

1. Shri Dayanidhi Maran

2. Shri Murli Deora

3. Shri B.K. Handique

4. Dr. M.S. Gill

5. Shri Kanti Lal Bhuria

6. Shri A. Sai Prathap

7. Shri Arun S. Yadav













Most Popular

To Top

Enable BeyondHeadlines to raise the voice of marginalized


Donate now to support more ground reports and real journalism.

Donate Now

Subscribe to email alerts from BeyondHeadlines to recieve regular updates