Jamia Wins Crowning Trophy in Hockey Tourney

BeyondHeadlines News Desk

Jamia Millia Islamia (JMI) walked away with the crowning trophy in North Zone Inter University Hockey 2015-16 tourney today.

A glittering Closing Ceremony marked the closure of the North Zone Inter University Hockey (Men) Championship 2015-16 at JMI today. Jamia won the Championship and Guru Nanak Dev University, Amritsar (Punjab) was declared as Runners-up.

There were 34 teams that had participated in the Championship. Jamia Millia Islamia hosted the Championship for the sixth time.

Prof. Talat Ahmad, Vice-Chancellor, JMI, who presided over the Closing Ceremony, observed that the young stars of the tournament today would be the future stars of the Indian Hockey Team tomorrow. The Championship provided an opportunity to youngsters from various universities to connect with each other and share core values of team spirit and togetherness that would enable them to perform successfully not only in sports but in various walks of life, he said. He congratulated the participants for their sterling performance in the tournament.

Mr. Devesh Singh Chauhan, Olympian & Arjuna Awardee was the Chief Guest of the programme. He congratulated the winners and the participants for their efforts to make the Championship memorable. He felt that a player who puts his/her heart into the game emerges as the ultimate winner. It was necessary to observe discipline to achieve success in life that all national and international sporting icons have ably demonstrated, he said.

Dr. A.K. Bansal, Dronacharya Awardee & Former National Coach highlighted the sporting culture in JMI that stood players in good stead.

Jamia has hosted All India Inter University Hockey (Men) Championship twice and was the winner in 2011-12. Jamia has an excellent record of producing international hockey players who have played for the country with exemplary success. Over 30 players hitherto represented the Indian National Hockey Team, 5 have been Olympians, 4 have captained the Indian Hockey Team and 3 have received the coveted Arjuna Award.

The Championship was organized under the leadership of Prof. Sanjay Singh, Director, Games & Sports Office, JMI and Prof. Mohammad Iqtidar  Khan, Chairman, Sports Committee of JMI.  Dr. Aurangzeb Khurram Hafiz and Dr. Moazzam Hussain Khan and their team provided able support for organization of the tournament in JMI.


Most Popular

To Top

Enable BeyondHeadlines to raise the voice of marginalized


Donate now to support more ground reports and real journalism.

Donate Now

Subscribe to email alerts from BeyondHeadlines to recieve regular updates