Witness best in Indian theatre!

BeyondHeadlines News Desk

The 13th edition of Mahindra Excellence in Theatre Awards (META) Festival 2018 starts with play ‘Muktidham at Shri Ram Centre in the Capital today.

The six day META Festival will showcase ten nominated plays. Over three hundred entries were received for nomination. 

Lillete Dubey

META also announced 2018 Lifetime Achievement Award. This year award will be conferred on the veteran Indian film and theatre director, Vijaya Mehta, Founder Member of the theatre group, Rangayan, and a leading figure in the experimental theatre of the 1960s.

Jay Shah, Head, Cultural Outreach, Mahindra & Mahindra Ltd, said, “META remains India’s most definitive platform to recognise theatrical talent. For more than a decade, it has brought together the very best of theatre productions from across the country. There is a multitude of talent in this art form which is the source code of all performing arts and the Mahindra Group is proud to present META each year as an inclusive, empowering, and prestigious canvas.”

Sanjoy K Roy, MD, Teamwork Arts & Festival Producer

The jury for the 13th edition of the Awards was also announced and comprises renowned theatre director and former Chairperson of the National School of Drama Amal Allana, popular film and theatre actor and theatre director Lillete Dubey, theatre director and professor of theatre at the Punjab University, Neelam Man Singh Chowdhry, film maker, actor, theatre director and writer Rajat Kapoor, theatre, film and television writer-director, Ranjit Kapoor and Indian cultural impresario, photographer, writer, classical dancer and the director of Shriram Bharatiya Kala Kendra, Shobha Deepak Singh.


Sanjoy K Roy, MD, Teamwork Arts & Festival Producer, said, “META is a celebration of the artistic diversity of Indian stagecraft and every year we strengthen our commitment of providing opportunity and access to the finest talent out there. This year theatre enthusiasts can participate in workshops and masterclasses held by META nominated stalwarts.”

META 2018 will give away 14 awards, including the Lifetime Achievement Award, as well as 13 competitive categories – Best Play, Best Director, Best Stage Design, Best Light Design, Best Innovative Sound Design, Best Costume Design, Best Actor in a Lead Role (Male), Best Actor in a Lead Role (Female), Best Actor in a Supporting Role (Male), Best Actor in a Supporting Role (Female), Best Original Script, Best Ensemble and Best Choreographer. The ‘The Red Carpet Awards Night’ will take place on April 19.

For full list, schedule of plays and details of nominations, please visit www.metawards.com.


Most Popular

To Top

Enable BeyondHeadlines to raise the voice of marginalized


Donate now to support more ground reports and real journalism.

Donate Now

Subscribe to email alerts from BeyondHeadlines to recieve regular updates