Karnataka: Only 7 Muslim Representatives are Elected

Afroz Alam Sahil, BeyondHeadlines

In the 2018 Assembly Election, 7 Muslim candidates have won (all are from Indian National Congress), whereas 8 Muslim MLAs have secured the second position.

Constituencies like Bidar, Chamrajpet, Gulbarga Uttar, Mangalore, Narasimharaja, Shanti Nagar and Shivajinagar have recorded the victory of the Muslim MLAs.

According to the 2011 census, the Muslim population in the state is 12.92%, which makes them the largest religious minority and has the most influential voting bloc after SCs and STs.

Despite of this crucial fact, BJP did not give a single ticket to a Muslim candidate. Congress and JD (S) gave tickets to the Muslim candidates but this number has declined as compared to the previous years’ records.

After the insistence of Congress Muslim leaders for giving 30 tickets to the Muslim candidates where the chances of these candidates to win are high, Congress made it 15, while 17 is recorded for the JD (S).

One interesting fact about this election is that Muslim turn out is recorded to be large in numbers.


The list of the candidates who won the election are as follows:-

Winner Muslim MLA

Constituency Leading Candidate Leading Party Trailing Candidate Trailing Party Margin
Bidar RAHIM KHAN Indian National Congress SURAYAKANTH NAGMARPALLI Bharatiya Janata Party 10245
Chamrajpet B.Z. ZAMEER AHMED KHAN Indian National Congress M LAKSHMINARAYANA Bharatiya Janata Party 33137
Gulbarga Uttar KANEEZ FATIMA Indian National Congress CHANDRAKANT B PATIL (CHANDU PATIL) Bharatiya Janata Party 5940
Mangalore U.T.ABDUL KHADER Indian National Congress SANTHOSH KUMAR RAI BOLIYARU Bharatiya Janata Party 19739
Narasimharaja TANVEER SAIT Indian National Congress S.SATHEESH (SANDESH SWAMY) Bharatiya Janata Party 18127
Shanti Nagar N A HARIS Indian National Congress K VASUDEVAMURTHY Bharatiya Janata Party 18205
Shivajinagar R ROSHAN BAIG Indian National Congress KATTA SUBRAMANYA NAIDU Bharatiya Janata Party 15040


Runner Muslim MLA

Constituency Leading Candidate Leading Party Trailing Candidate Trailing Party Margin
Belgaum Uttar ANIL S BENAKE Bharatiya Janata Party FAIROZ NURUDDIN SAITH Indian National Congress 17267
Bijapur City BASANAGOUD .R. PATIL (YATNAL) Bharatiya Janata Party ABDUL HAMEED MUSHRIF Indian National Congress 6413
Gangawati PARANNA ESHWARAPPA MUNAVALLI Bharatiya Janata Party IQBAL ANSARI Indian National Congress 7973
Hubli-dharwad- West ARVIND BELLAD Bharatiya Janata Party MOHAMMAD ISMAIL TAMATGAR Indian National Congress 40487
Kolar K.SRINIVASA GOWDA Janata Dal (Secular) SYED ZAMEER PASHA Indian National Congress 44251
Mangalore City North DR.BHARATH SHETTY. Y Bharatiya Janata Party B.A.MOHIUDDIN BAVA Indian National Congress 26648
Raichur DR. SHIVARAJ PATIL Bharatiya Janata Party SYED YASEEN Indian National Congress 10991
Ramanagaram H.D.KUMARASWAMY Janata Dal (Secular) IQBAL HUSSAIN.H.A Indian National Congress 22636
Shiggaon BASAVARAJ BOMMAI Bharatiya Janata Party SAYED AZEEMPEER KHADRI Indian National Congress 9265


According to the facts, Karnataka had only one elected Muslim MLA in 1952, 9 in 1957, 9 in 1962, 7 in 1967, 12 in 1972, 19 in 1978, only one in 1983, 8 in 1985, 11 in 1989, 6 in 1994, 13 in 1999, 8 in 2004, 9 in 2008 and 12 in 2013.


Most Popular

To Top

Enable BeyondHeadlines to raise the voice of marginalized


Donate now to support more ground reports and real journalism.

Donate Now

Subscribe to email alerts from BeyondHeadlines to recieve regular updates