13 Central Universities to be established in India in 2019

By SN Ansari

A meeting is conducted in house by Ministers’ Cabinet headed by Narendra Modi on 16 January, Wednesday. It was a pending decision of cabinet to establish new central universities in different states.

Actually, it’s a previous government project. The previous UPA Government had taken the proposal of Rs 3120 Cr but NDA government sanction 8113 Cr announced by Piyush Goyal, Minister of Railways.

Goyal added that it would be Rs 3600 Cr more for a total estimate including infrastructure and other expenditures.

The new central universities will be established in the states as listed Bihar, Jharkhand, Himachal Pradesh, Gujarat, Karnataka, Punjab, Haryana, Rajasthan, Kerala, Orissa, Tamil Nadu and J&K. These central universities approve under the Central University Act 2009.

The total central universities by state and union territory in India are 48 in different states.

According to MHRD 318 state universities, 185 private universities, 16 IITs, 30 NITs, 5 IISERs and a lot of technical and non-technical colleges in the country.

In India, University establishment under a Central Act, Provincial Act or State Act includes any institution as may be recognized by the University Grants Commission (UGC) in accordance with the regulations under the UGC Act 1956.

Instead of investing millions of rupees on constructing new universities, the government must spend time and money on constructive, quality and excellence in education because every year millions of students are migrating abroad for study. The UPA government should initiate to set up new centre or branches of reputed central universities in needed areas.


Most Popular

To Top

Enable BeyondHeadlines to raise the voice of marginalized


Donate now to support more ground reports and real journalism.

Donate Now

Subscribe to email alerts from BeyondHeadlines to recieve regular updates